< Back to Talks

Anahata Chakra: Heart-Centered Connectedness

Chakras: Back to Basics

The anahata chakra, or heart chakra, is the home of the whispers of our heart—the subtle vibrations of anahata, “unstruck sound.” This chakra governs our ability to feel all emotions, from joy to sorrow, and to extend love, support, and compassion not only to others but also to ourselves. Shari Friedrichsen explains what happens when this fourth-chakra area is out of balance, and she recommends practices to balance and strengthen it, so that we can connect more fully with ourselves and with others.

Format: Video with audio download
Length: 7 mins

About the Teacher

Shari Friedrichsen

Shari Friedrichsen has been teaching and studying yoga for more than 40 years and is a key facilitator at the Himalayan Institute’s Teacher Training & Professional Certification programs, nationally and internationally. She is a faculty member of the 500-hour teacher training program at 8 Limbs Yoga in Seattle, WA, and also conducts numerous classes, seminars, and trainings worldwide. Shari has studied asana, meditation, and philosophy with respected teachers Pandit Rajmani Tigunait, Rolf Sovik, Amma Karunamayi, and BKS Iyengar. Shari's unique style integrates subtle and gross anatomical awareness with breath awareness to draw the student into the inner experience of yoga. Her approach uses yoga as a vital, powerful, and compassionate component in supporting the body and the psyche. Shari holds the following certifications—C-IAYT, E-RYT 500, and YACEP—and has presented over 60 videos on YogaInternational.com as well as being a frequent contributor to the Wisdom Library.

See Teacher's Content, Programs, and Courses